KPop – A Month in Review – July

kpopmonth

July was another busy month in Kpop land with more great comebacks and debuts. There were some great releases in Japan as well – so many that I decided to give them their very own post – so stay tuned!

Top MVs – Korea

1. B1A4 ~ Solo Day
Well I loved a lot of songs this month, but it was the MV that got B1A4 over the line with this fun ‘Summer time’ comeback. Jinyoung did a great job composing this title track for B1A4’s newest mini-album and  the MV is just great! This is the first MV B1A4 have released without a dance, but it was still very entertaining. I liked the quirky plot and the boys were just too cute in it! As I said in my post about this song – the live performance was great too!

2. Infinite ~ Back
This is really my favorite song for the month – possibly for the year. It’s just really awesome. The only reason I couldn’t vote it number one was due to the horrific nature of the MV. I mean seriously, who enjoys watching their favorite idols getting beaten up? Not me that’s for sure. Thankfully they have now released a dance version so I am going to be sneaky and link that MV instead.

3. Block B – HER
Block B finally had  a proper comeback this month with their new song HER. This was a fantastic comeback. The song has that great Block B flavour and the MV is full of energy and fun. I’m glad they got to promote a bit of Jackpot with their comeback stages. I love Jackpot a lot!

4. Henry – Fantastic
Henry is back! Yay! Once again we have Henry showing off his music and dance talents in a good MV. Sure he’s stuck in a box, but there is a little bit of a plot, and the box scenes are pretty cool. I was pretty happy with this comeback – but now I need him to comeback with a song that will blow us away and win him some number 1s!

5. Boys Republic – Dress Up
Boys Republic are one of my more favorite rookie groups. I was very happy to say I was not disappointed with this comeback. I really enjoyed this fun and colourful MV and the song is quite catchy. I’m a sucker for colourful hair and cute concepts and this MV had them all.

6. 100% – U Beauty
Iv’e been a fan of 100% for a while now, and have been very pleased with their comebacks this year considering they are down 2 members. U Beauty is a super catchy song and the MV is very cute. I really liked their dance as well. These boys have some talent, that’s for sure!

7. C-Clown – Let’s Love
My love for C-Clown has grown a lot this year. They are very funny, and their leader is a fellow Aussie! He’s quite talented too, producing their cute YouTube reality series. If you haven’t seen it you should check it out of C-Clowns official YouTube channel. This was another good summer time song. It was catchy and fun with a great performance to go along with it. I also appreciated the abs – thanks Rome…

8. F(x) – Red Light
At first I didn’t really know if I was a fan of this song, but it really grew on me with each performance I watched. I do love F(x) and their unique concepts. This MV was pretty good too. I love the performance, the outfits and all the arty effects. F(x) deserved the wins they got, it’s just a bit sad they were soured somewhat with Sulli’s troubles. Poor Sulli.

There were some other comebacks I liked this month too, but maybe not so much the MVs. Nu’est’s Goodbye and Hyuna’s Red have had a lot of playtime on my iPod. There were also some great debuts!

Top Debuts

Legend – Left Out
I really enjoyed this debut. Legend are a 5 member boy band under the label JK Space. They have some talented vocalists and quite a catchy song. I was sad they weren’t able to promote their song on all the music shows. It must be a hard world out there for debut groups who don’t have a powerful label behind them.

B.I.G – Hello
I know this song is a bit ridiculous, but I really loved this debut. It’s a cute anthem song which introduces them quite well. I love singing along! Whatsup annyeong! B.I.G stands for Boys in Groove and I’m looking forward to what these cute boys bring to us in the future.

LU:KUS – So Into You
LU:KUS finally debuted this month after a somewhat rocky road. I wasn’t initially blown away by their song but I have, somehow, come to listen to it a lot and now I really like it. I liked the costuming and dance in the MV.

 

And that’s it for July! Better late then never! 🙂

3 thoughts on “KPop – A Month in Review – July

  1. Caitlyn

    Too many, there are just too many groups! It’s so hard to keep up with them all. I didn’t even know Boys Republic had another song out, same with C-Clown, and they’re both groups I decided to start following when I saw them live in March. But easier said than done, lol. I’m not even starting with the new groups. If i can’t keep up with the older groups, i have no chance with the rookies! Except for WINNER, who aren’t really new considering they’ve been around for a year already, lol

    Reply
    1. Aimee Post author

      I know! Just too many I love them all though. Hahaha – that’s my problem. I just don’t know how to say no to a new group if they are cute enough.

      Reply
  2. Lexus Canada

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you’re using? I’m having some small security problems with my latest blog and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any recommendations?

    Reply

Leave a comment