Adventure Asia: Fangirling at The BCJ Gardens

Towards the end of 2013 I went on a holiday to China, Japan, South Korea and Hong Kong. Here is the story of one of my fun adventures! Enjoy!

Date: 26th September 2013
Country: South Korea
Location: The BCJ Botanical Gardens (Byeokchoji)

This day trip was one of my favourite days in South Korea! Ever since watching “You’re Beautiful” I had wanted to visit the statue garden featured in the show and many others since then. It was a must see destination for us on this trip so when the day finally dawned for our visit my friends and I were super excited.

We knew we were in for a long day. The BCJ gardens are around an hour and a half out of Seoul so we set out early to Seoul Station. Before heading down to catch the train we popped into the Lotte Supermarket and bought ourselves a picnic lunch of Bibimbap, chicken and some other delicious snacks!

To get to the BCJ Gardens we caught the train to Geumchon Station on the Gyeongui line which took well over an hour and then after contemplating trying to work out buses we gave up and caught a taxi. The taxi ride took nearly half an hour. The BCJ gardens are literally in the middle of nowhere!

We could not have asked for a nicer day and it was so exciting to finally step through the gates. The fangirling started right away! This was where SHINee’s Minho, Infinite’s Dongwoo and 2AM’s Jinwoon plus a host of other celebrities came to film “Mamma Mia” Episode 4.

The Parks Entrance

The Parks Entrance

minam1-00164
We headed straight to the sculpture gardens and upon entering I really did feel like Park ShinHye descending into paradise. We made our way down the lane of sculptures and ate our yummy lunch in this section of these beautiful gardens.


park
I will promise you!I will promise you!

The BCJ Gardens are of course famous for their appearance in other dramas such as “Boys Over Flowers”, “City Hunter” and “Heartstrings” just to name a few.

Only Paradise!!!!

Almost Paradise!!!!

Lee Min Ho's butt and my butt sat on the same bench!

Lee Min Ho’s butt and my butt sat on the same bench!

We initially didn't realise Heartstrings was filmed here however as we started walking down this path we recognised it immediately and so had to strike a pose. We even re-enacted that silly ending!

We initially didn’t realise Heartstrings was filmed here however as we started walking down this path we recognised it immediately and so had to strike a pose. We even re-enacted that silly ending!

One of my favourite things to do since coming home is to get excited when watching a drama or MV and realise that I have totally been there! Like when I re-watched B1A4’s “Tried to Walk” MV recently…

Omo! I totally walked down the same path as Baro!

Omo! I totally walked down the same path as Baro!

These gardens are worth a visit, not only because they are the host to many a filming, but also because the are simply beautiful! We had a great time out there and were lucky to be blessed with such a fine day.

I’ll finish off with some final snapshots of the very pretty gardens.

other

Leave a comment